Mondays Are for Pi

Mondays never51xufiFRCtL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_ fail to roll around, but at least I’m reading a good book! I am currently reading Life of Pi by Yann Martel, it is 336 pages and I’m already on 250. The semester is quickly coming to an end and I thought I would pick a book I bought to read over summer last year and never did. That seems to happen to me a lot, I always have high expectations and go out and buy books but I never get around to reading them. Maybe this summer I’ll finally succeed in reading the ones I buy. Well anyways back to Life of Pi, this book has been made into a movie but luckily I haven’t seen it yet. I hate when you already know the ending of a story, it ruins the suspense. Suspense is practically on every page of this book. Pi Patel and his family were emigrating from India to get to North America on a cargo ship. His father was a zookeeper and they brought all of the animals along with them. Things take a very wrong turn and the ship ends up sinking. Pi survives and finds himself stranded on a lifeboat with a hyena, an orangutan, a zebra and Richard Parker, a huge Bengal tiger. Doesn’t sound like a pleasurable situation to be without food in now does it?

“To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is akin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.”

The way this story has been written so far is spectacular. It’s such an easy read because of the descriptive language that Martel uses. He describes the nature around them so effortlessly. I think that’s one reason I’m really loving this book, because I love the ocean. I can’t wait to read the ending of this book and see what happens. Hopefully Richard Parker doesn’t get too hungry because I would rather not read a descriptive few pages about that.

305 words

One thought on “Mondays Are for Pi

Leave a Reply

