The Challenges of Of Mice and Men

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck is a 187 page classic. I had read this book a while ago in school and I couldn’t really remember the storyline, but after seeing it on a lot of banned books I wanted to read it again to see why it has been challenged so many times. I remember not loving this book the first time I read it but now that I have again I still did not enjoy it that much. I did understand it a bit more now that I am older but it just isn’t the kind of book I would want to read for entertainment. This book is about two men, George and Lennie, living during the 51wuHv30-ML._SX359_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg. They have a dream of owning their own ranch one day however it’s never a simple journey in a book. They go through a lot of obstacles and meet a lot of people along the way. Lennie suffers from a mental illness and is basically a giant, one who sometimes doesn’t realize his own strength. The rest is going to be left to you to find out.

“I got you to look after me, and you got me to look after you, and that’s
why.”

Personally I did not enjoy this book but the meaning behind it is something kind of important. It has to do with how hard people will work to try and achieve their dreams and I think that is something a lot of people forget nowadays. They feel like things should be handed to them but Lennie and George for sure don’t get anything simply handed to them in this novel. I did like that this book was pretty short and did not drag on. It was a pretty easy read for the most part but I did catch myself zoning out a lot and then not realizing what I just read, but I mean I do that all the time. I would not highly recommend this book but I wouldn’t say that it is terrible.

339 words

Leave a Reply

