Friday Night Lights on a Monday

9780306824203_pbMonday has rolled around once again and here I am to tell you about what I’m currently reading. Friday Night Lights by Buzz Bissinger is 432 pages long and I am currently only on page 200. It is a classic underdog story. I’m not quite halfway through it yet but it hasn’t really disappointed me so far. I loved the tv series so I thought why not try the book as well? I had heard very mixed things about the book previous to me reading it. I have to say it is not my favorite book so far but I am enjoying it. I think I just prefer things that move a bit quicker, this story is going a little too slow for me to keep focused on.

“Let each of you discover where your chance for greatness lies. Seize that chance and let no power on earth deter you.”

Odessa, Texas sounds like a rough place to call home. I read some background of this book before reading it and Bissinger actually moved himself and his whole family to Odessa for a year before writing this book. The way he describes the town in this interview is really how I picture it while reading. I would have to say him relocating for sure benefitted this book. Although I am struggling with not trying to compare it to the tv series in anyway as they are pretty different, I can’t help but picture Coach Gaines to look just like the adorable Coach Taylor. It starts off by introducing us to the players who all struggle with different aspects of their life but share a love for the game deep down. In the town of Odessa, football is more than just a game. It’s what the town seems to revolve around. I really enjoy the story line of this book because I find it very relatable. The small town football obsession is something I have witnessed first-hand and is a big part of the American culture, especially here in the south. I’m looking forward to finishing this book and seeing what it has left to offer.

354 words

Leave a Reply

