The Final Verdict on The Kite Runner

Now that I have finished The Kite Runner by Kh51m3kl80zl-_sx326_bo1204203200_aled Hosseini I have to say it is one of the most memorable books I have read in a very long time. This book is 372 pages long and it holds your interest until the very end. It even leaves you with an ending that you on your own can interpret. I gave some more background info in my previous blog post about this book. The main character Amir, and his father Baba live a life which is very unrelatable to my own. Maybe this is why I was so intrigued by this books content. His life seems to be steered by trying to rid himself of the unforgivable guilt he has felt his whole life due to to a single action. He goes to extreme measures to try to turn around his previously selfish actions. He works hard towards becoming a selfless adult but if he succeeds or not depends on the readers own interpretation.

“For you, a thousand times over”
― Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

The memory his guilt is derived from and that of which the story revolves around is not meant for all to read. It could be thought of quite explicit for younger minds. I like when books have topics that many try to avoid. I think they make them feel more like something that could of really happened. This whole book to me feels so real. The emotions that Hosseini manages to convey through the text is amazing. It was a bit of an emotional journey though that is for sure. The one thing that does bother me about this book is how even though he manages to escape the political turmoil in Kabul and make it the United States, he is never happy enough with what he has. He bases his entire life around trying to make up for what he did and that is no way to live in my eyes but I guess it does make for a very good storyline.

340 words

Leave a Reply

