Running From Guilt in The Kite Runner

kiteWell it’s Monday again and after a very hectic few days it feels good to sit down and think about something as simple as what I’m currently reading. Family crisis never seem to come at a good time, especially now that I don’t live at home. It’s so hard to just be able to drop everything and focus on the issues at hand when all that is running through my mind tends to be what I’m missing in all my classes… but let’s get back to what I’m reading. The book I’m sucked into right now is not too simple that’s for sure. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini is a bit of an emotional roller coaster all driven by guilt. I’m on page 300 and I can already tell I’m going to have to finish it within the next day or so.

 

 

“It may be unfair, but what happens in a few days, sometimes even a single day, can change the course of a whole lifetime…”
― Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

The book begins in Kabul, Afghanistan where Amir grew up in his early childhood years. Amir and his father were very close and they had two servants, one of which was Amir’s age and his name was Hassan. I’m not giving away any spoilers here but the whole idea of guilt I talked about earlier has to do with something between Amir and Hassan, exactly what happened is going to be left for you to find out when you read this awesome book. I will admit to you now though that it is a little graphic. The book goes on to follow Amir’s journey through life, he has to move to America due to the political unrest in Afghanistan. He sure doesn’t run away from his problems though. It seems in everything he does he is always brought back to the extreme guilt he obtained from that moment in his childhood. I’m really curious to see how this book is going to end. It sure has taken a lot of shocking twists so I must say it is highly recommended as a book to pick up.

358 words

Leave a Reply

